Connect with us

State News

Republicans Sweep State-Level Elections



The votes have been counted, and a “red wave” has swept over the state of West Virginia, as every state-level election has been won by a Republican candidate.

In the U.S. Senate race, Shelley Moore Capito has been re-elected with 70.34% of the vote. She was followed by Paula Jean Swearengin with 26.85% and David Moran with 2.81%. In the U.S. House of Representatives 3rd Congressional District, Carol Miller was also re-elected, winning 70.90% of the vote. Challenger Hilary Turner received 29.10%.

Governor Jim Justice was re-elected by a wide margin, receiving 65.61% of the vote. Democratic challenger Ben Salango received 29.79%, Libertarian nominee Erica Kolenick received 3.02% and Mountain Party candidate Daniel Lutz received 1.58%

Secretary of State Mac Warner has been re-elected to a second-term, defeating former two-term Secretary of State Natalie Tennant by a margin of 58.96% to 41.01%.

In the race for State Auditor, John McCuskey is the winner with 67.45% of the vote. Democrat Mary Ann Roebuck Clayton received 32.55%.

In what is perhaps the biggest surprise of the night, former Delegate Riley Moore has been elected State Treasurer, receiving 57.84% of the vote. 24-year incumbent John Perdue received only 42.16%. This marks the first time in nearly a century that a Republican will serve West Virginia as Treasurer.

With 65.43% of the vote, Kent Leonhardt has been re-elected as Commissioner of Agriculture. Democratic challenger Bob Beach received 34.57%. And lastly, Attorney General Patrick Morrissey has been re-elected, receiving 64.38% of the vote. Democratic challenger Sam Brown Petsonk received 35.62%.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.